Rewind Series #5

Another week, another REWIND Series.

This week I uploaded 3 songs from 3 different projects.

The first song is “The Storm” which features the homie Add-2 and is produced by Maja 7th. I had a lot of fun making this record. I remember I came up with the hook as I was driving around listening to the beat. I freestyled it and pieced it together, recording it on my phone so I wouldn’t forget it. Then I got to the crib and wrote my verse. Originally, besides having my homie Add-2 on the joint, I was trying to get Skyzoo from NY on it as well, but it wasn’t able to get done on time; so it ended up just being Add-2 and I. This joint can be found on SRNC (Deluxe Edition).

The 2nd song is “Extravagant Lifestyle” which features Tone Pro and Astonish. This record was produced by 21 Grams of the Sound Merchants. I actually came up with this hook the same way I came up with “The Storm” one; driving around in my car listening to the beat over and over. I actually freestyle the first 8 bars of my verse as well, saved it on my phone, and finished up the other 8 when I got to the crib. Definitely one of my favorite records off of The Manifesto EP.

The 3rd song is my remake of Kanye’s “Devil In a New Dress” which ended up getting used on my Helluva Year : The Mixtape with my homies DJ Scend and Stefan Ponce. This is easily one of my favorite verses I’ve written. The moment I heard that beat, I needed to write to it. I had heard J. Cole’s version as well, and knew I had to do it justice.

I’ll be back next week with another Rewind Series. Peace

– Scheme

Leave a Reply

